

PREFACE BY THE EDITORIAL BOARD

This journal foregrounds knowledge that is developing in a new academic study-line that focuses on communication and congenital deafblindness from various theoretical perspectives including dialogical theory and cognitive linguistics/cognitive semiotics. The study-line is connected to the International Master in Educational Sciences on Communication and Deafblindness at the University of Groningen in the Netherlands. The purpose of the journal is to share this knowledge with the outside world, as well as sharing discussions and comments related to the context that enables this new field of knowledge to develop. The journal relates to the fact that symbolic communication is very robust in human beings. One implication is that it takes extreme communication circumstances to point out the most fundamental and central processes. There is therefore much to learn from how persons with congenital deafblindness engage in building sharable communicative relations with sighted and hearing communication partners and vice versa. The thematic focus in this journal is on basic processes of meaning-making in the context of face-to-face communication. The journal will have a core of case-related studies, but will also publish shorter comments and discussions and articles that add contextual perspectives, such as pure theoretical articles, literature reviews, and articles with historical, philosophical and organizational orientations. The journal is on the one hand targeted to lift practice in the clinical field and on the other hand targeted to explore, show and share how the lived perspectives of persons with congenial deafblindness with regard to communication shed light on general fundamental processes. The journal will give priority to articles and commentaries that sustain a focus on communication and deafblindness, but articles and comments from other relevant fields with regard to the analysis of complex communication processes are most welcome too.

Editorial Board JDBSC

Marlene Daelman, Paul Hart, Flemming Ask Larsen,
Anne Nafstad, Inger Rødbroe, Jacques Souriau and Ton Visser